Elections

Find out if you are registered to vote in Texas
For more news on elections happening in Texas, go to votetexas.gov (English) or votetexas.gov/es (Spanish)
For general information and to find out how to vote elsewhere in the United States, go to vote.gov
Printable form of IDs required: English or Spanish

November 5, 2019
Uniform Election Date
Constitutional Amendment Election
Possible elections included with the Constitutional Amendment Election: Granbury ISD, Tolar ISD, Bluff Dale ISD, City of Granbury, City of DeCordova, City of Tolar, City of Stockton Bend
 First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail Tuesday, January 1, 2019
First Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot
Saturday, July 20, 2019
Last Day to Order Election  Monday, August 19, 2019
Last Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot
Monday, August 19, 2019
Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, October 7, 2019
First Day of Early Voting Monday, October 21, 2019 
Last Day to Apply by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) Friday, October 25, 2019
Last Day of Early Voting Friday, November 1, 2019
Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, November 4, 2019 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Monday, May 6, 2019 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)
Election Day Tuesday, November 5, 2019 7:00 am - 7:00 pm 

Hood County voters use iVotronics from Election Systems and Software to cast their ballot. If you would like to get familiar with how to use the iVotronics before you come to vote, 
access instructions.


2020 Election Dates

Tuesday, March 3, 2020 Democrat & Republican 
First Day to file for a place on the Primary ballot for precinct chair candidates Tuesday, September 10, 2019
First day to file for all other candidates for offices that are regularly scheduled to be on the Primary ballot; first day for independent candidates to file declaration of intent Saturday, November 9, 2019
Filing deadline for candidates; filing deadline for independent candidates to file declaration of intent Monday, December 9, 2019 at 6:00 pm
First day to apply for a ballot by mail using Application for a Ballot by Mail (ABBM) or Federal Postcard Application (FPCA) Wednesday, January 1, 2020
* First day to file does not move because of New Year's Day holiday.  
Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, February 3, 2020
First Day of Early Voting Tuesday, February 18, 2020 
First business day after Presidents' Day
Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail 
(Received, not Postmarked)
Friday, February 28, 2020

Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, March 3, 2020 (Election Day) at 7:00 pm if carrier 
envelop is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, March 4, 2020 
(next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 pm if carrier 
envelope is postmarked by 7:00 pm at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)

Saturday, May 2, 2020 Uniform Election Date

 City of Cresson, City of Lipan,  Lipan ISD,
Deadline to post New HB 305 Notice September 1, 2019
* NEW LAW: Effective September 1, 2019 (HB 305 affects political subdivisions with taxing authority)

Deadline to Post Notice of Candidate Filing Deadline (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Monday, December 16, 2019 for local political subdivisions that have a first day to file their candidates
First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail Wednesday, January 1, 2020
* First day to file does not move because of New Year's Day holiday.  
First Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Last Day to Order General Election or Special Election on a Measure Friday, February 14, 2020
Last Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Friday, February 14, 2020
Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy (Local Political Subdivisions Only)  Tuesday, February 18, 2020
Last Day to Register to VOte Thursday, April 2, 2020
First Day of Early Voting by Personal Appearance Monday, April 20, 2020
Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail 
(Received, not Postmarked)
Monday, April 20, 2020 (deadline falls on San Jacinto Day, moves to preceding business day)
Last Day of Early Voting by Personal Appearance Tuesday, April 28, 2020
Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Saturday, May 2, 2020 (Election Day) at 7:00 pm if carrier envelope is not
 postmarked, OR Monday, May 4, 2020 (next business day after Election Day)
 at 5:00 pm if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 pm at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply. 
Tuesday, May 26, 2020 Primary Runoff Election Democrat & Republican
First day to apply for a ballot by mail using Application for Ballot by Mail (ABBM) or Federal Postcard Application (FPCA Wednesday, January 1, 2020 

* First day to file does not move because of New Year's Day holiday.  
Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, April 27, 2020
First Day of Early Voting Monday, May 18, 2020
Last Day to Apply by Mail
(Received, not Postmarked)
Friday, May 15, 2020
Last Day of Early Voting Friday, May 22, 2020
Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail  Tuesday, May 26, 2020 (Election Day) at 7:00 pm if carrier envelope is not
 postmarked, OR Monday, May 4, 2020 (next business day after Election Day)
 at 5:00 pm if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 pm at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply. 
November 3, 2020 Uniform Election Date General Election
Deadline to post NEW HB 305 notice November 3, 2019 
*NEW LAW: Effective September 1, 2019 (HB 305 affects political subdivisions with taxing authority)
Deadline to Post Notice of Candidate Filign Deadline (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Thursday, June 18, 2020 for local political subdivisions that have a first day to file for their candidates
First Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail Wednesday, January 1, 2020
* First day to file does not move because of New Year's Day holiday. 
First Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Saturday, July 18, 2020
First Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy (General Election for State and County Officers) Saturday, July 18, 2020
Last Day to Order General Election or Special Election on a Measure Monday, August 17, 2020
Last Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Monday, August 17, 2020 at 5:00 pm
Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy (General Election for State and County Officers) Monday, August 17, 2020
Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Friday, August 21, 2020
Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, October 5, 2020
First Day of Early Voting by Personal Appearance Monday, October 19, 2020
Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail 
(Received, not Postmarked)
Friday, October 23, 2020
Last Day of Early Voting by Personal Appearance Friday, October 30, 2020 
Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, November 3, 2020 (Election Day) at 7:00 pm if carrier envelope
 is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, November 4, 2020 (next business day after
 Election Day) at 5:00 pm if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 pm at the location of the election on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)