Elections


Find out if you are a registered voter.

 
March 6, 2018 Election Date
Election: Democrat and Republican Primary
*Note: This calendar reflects state law as it exits prior to the end of 2017 legislative session.  This calendar will be updates in June, if necessary, to reflect any changes made by the state legislature.
 First day to file for a place on the Primary ballot for precinct chair candidates Tuesday, September 12, 2017
First Day to File for all other candidates for offices that are regularly scheduled to be on the Primary ballot Saturday, November 11, 2017
Filing deadline for candidates; filing deadline for independent candidates to file declaration of intent Monday, December 11, 2017
First day to apply for ballot by mail using Application for a Ballot by Mail (ABBM) or Federal Postcard Application (FPCA)
Friday, January 1, 2018
Last Day to Register to Vote
Monday, February 5, 2018
*Actual deadline falls on Sunday but moves to the next
business day
First Day of Early Voting 
Tuesday, February 20, 2018
*First business day after President's Day
Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail 
(Received, not Postmarked)
Friday, February 23, 2018

Last Day of Early Voting
Friday, March 2, 2018
Last day to Receive Ballot by Mail 
Tuesday, March 6, 2018 (Election Day) at 7:00 pm if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, March 7, 2018 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day (unless overseas deadline applies)

May 5, 2018 Election Date
Election: Local Political Subdivisions
Possibly: Lipan ISD, City of Lipan
First Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot Wednesday, January 17, 2018
 Last Day to Order General Election or Special Election on a Measure Friday, February 16, 2018
 Last Day to File for a place on the General Election Ballot Friday, February 16, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.
 Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy Tuesday, February 20, 2018 
 Last Day to Register to Vote Thursday, April 5, 2018
 First Day of Early Voting  Monday, April 23, 2018
 Last Day to Apply for Ballot by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) Tuesday, April 24, 2018
Last Day of Early Voting  Tuesday, May 1, 2018
 Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Saturday, May 5, 2018 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Monday, May 7, 2018 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)
Election Day Saturday, May 5, 2018 

May 22, 2018 Election Date
Election: Democrat and Republican Runoff Primary
*If needed
 Last Day to Register to Vote Monday, April 23, 2018
 First Day of Early Voting  Monday, May 14, 2018
 Last Day to Apply by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) Friday, May 11, 2018
Last Day of Early Voting  Friday, May 18, 2018
 Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, May 22, 2018 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, May 23, 2018 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)
Election Day  Tuesday, May 22, 2018


November 6, 2018 Election Date
Election: General
 First Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Saturday, July 21, 2018
 Last Day to Order General Election or Special Election on a Measure Monday, August 20, 2018
 Last Day to File for a Place on the General Election Ballot (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Monday, August 20, 2018 at 5:00 p.m.
 Last Day to File a Declaration of Write-in Candidacy (Local Political Subdivisions Only) Friday, August 24, 2018
 Last Day to Register to Vote Tuesday, October 9, 2018
 First Day of Early Voting  Monday,October 22, 2018
 Last Day to Apply by Mail (Received, not Postmarked) Friday, October 26, 2018
Last Day of Early Voting  Friday, November 2, 2018
 Last Day to Receive Ballot by Mail Tuesday, November 6, 2018 (Election Day) at 7:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is not postmarked, OR Wednesday, May 23, 2018 (next business day after Election Day) at 5:00 p.m. if carrier envelope is postmarked by 7:00 p.m. on Election Day (unless overseas or military voter deadlines apply)
Election Day  Tuesday, November 6, 2018



Hood County voters use iVotronics from Election Systems and Software to cast their ballot. If you would like to get familiar with how to use the iVotronics before you come to vote, 
access instructions.

What to take to the Polls...


Photo Identification Required for voting in person. Only acceptable photo IDs are:
Texas Department of Public Safety Issued Photo IDs
* Drivers License
* Election Identification Certificate
* Concealed or Handgun License
* Personal Identification Card
* Concealed or Handgun License
United States Government Issued Photo IDs
* Passport
* Military Identification Card
* Citizenship certificate or naturalization certificate with photograph

If a voter cannot obtain an acceptable form of photo ID, and the voter has a reasonable impediment or difficulty to obtaining such ID, the voter may still cast a regular ballot by presenting a supporting form of ID and executing a Reasonable Impediment Declaration, noting the voter's reasonable impediment to obtaining an acceptable form of photo ID, and state that the voter is the same person as the person on the presented form of supporting form of ID.

Here is a list of supporting forms of ID:
* Valid voter registration certificate
* Certified birth certificate (must be original)
* Copy of or original current utility bill
* Copy of or original bank statement
* Copy of or original government check
* Copy of or original paycheck
* Copy of or original government document with your name and an address (original required if it contains a photograph)

You may take in sample ballots that have been marked or notes into the polling booth to vote your ballot. You must take these papers with you when you leave.